2009 FIFA Confederations Cup

An Overview Of Fifa Confederations Cup

Official Logo of Confederations Cup 2013

A prologue to FIFA 2010 World Cup, the 2009 FIFA Confederations cup is all set to dazzle the South African grounds from June 14, 2009 to June 28, 2009. Teams from eight different confederations (one team per confederation) will be competing for the title.

Participant nations are South Africa (Confederation of African Football-CAF), Italy (Union of European Football Associations-UEFA), USA (Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football-CONCACAF), Brazil (Confederación Sudamericana de Fútbol-CSF or Confederation of South American Football), Iraq (Asian Football Confederation-AFC), Egypt (CAF), Spain (UEFA) and New Zealand (Oceania Football Confederation- OFC).

South Africa, being the host of FIFA World Cup 2010, is participating as a host nation where Italy, being the champions of 2006 FIFA World Cup, are all geared up to rock in the football fiesta. The defending champion of the cup is Brazil, who won the 2005 Confederations Cup. The remaining nations are the winners of their respective confederations’ titles.

The opening match is scheduled between South Africa and Iraq on June 14, 2009 in Johannesburg where the final will be played on the same ground on June 28, 2009. The other three cities which serve as the venues for the Cup are Pretoria, Bloemfontein and Rustenburg. 2009 FIFA Confederations Cup was a great tournament which got a lot of attention. 

Share Your Thoughts