2016 – 2017 Bundesliga season

Bundesliga football

Once again, Bayern Munich proved too much to handle for the rest of the competition. Now with Carlo Ancelotti under the reigns, the Bavarian giants won yet another German title, the 27th of their rich history.

But there was room for surprises in the ever competitive Bundesliga: the second placed team was not Borussia Dortmund. Instead, Red Bull Leipzig shocked the football world by topping the yellow and black team and securing direct Champions League football in the 2017 – 2018 term.

Some not – so – traditional teams secured places in European competition: Koln, Freiburg and Hertha Berlin will play international football, while successful clubs like Schalke 04, Borussia Moenchengladbach and Bayer Leverkusen will not play in the Champions League or the Europa League.

Best player (overall): Arturo Vidal (Bayern Munchen)

A star in a team full of them, the Chilean international is the heart and soul of the Bavarians. He does it all: tenacious in defensive duties, hard working, neat and tidy with the ball on his feet, has very good passing ability, can run for days, is adept at shooting with either one of his legs and has aerial prowess. Vidal was vital to the title and his contributions go far beyond his four goals. Prolific goalscorers Robert Lewandowski, Timo Werner and Pierre – Emerick Aubameyang get a honorable mention.

Best goalies: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munchen), Bernd Leno (Bayer Leverkusen), Oliver Baumann (Hoffenheim).

Best defenders: Mats Hummels (Bayern Munchen), Jerome Boateng (Bayern Munchen), David Alaba (Bayern Munchen), Niklas Sule (Hoffenheim), Javi Martínez (Bayern Munchen), Sokratis Papastathopoulos (Borussia Dortmund), Marvin Plattenhardt (Hoffenheim), Jonas Hector (Koln).

Best midfielders: Thiago Alcántara (Bayern Munchen), Ousmane Dembélé (Borussia Dortmund), Franck Ribery (Bayern Munchen), Arturo Vidal (Bayern Munchen), Hakan Calhanoglu (Bayer Leverkusen), Karim Bellarabi (Bayer Leverkusen), Christian Pulisic (Borussia Dortmund), Shinji Kagawa (Borussia Dortmund), Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen), Mahmoud Dahoud (Borussia Moenchengladbach), Leon Goretzka (Schalke 04), Max Meyer (Schalke 04), Naby Keita (RB Leipzig), Kerem Demirbay (Hoffenheim), Emil Forsberg (RB Leipzig)

Best attackers: Pierre – Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund), Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munchen), Timo Werner (RB Leipzig), Thomas Muller (Bayern Munchen), Lars Stindl (Borussia Moenchengladbach), Sandro Wagner (Hoffenheim), Serge Gnabry (Werder Bremen), Kevin Volland (Bayer Leverkusen), Anthony Modeste (Koln), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munchen).

Best coaches:

Carlo Ancelotti (Bayern Munchen)

Ralph Hasenhuttl (RB Leipzig)

Thomas Tuchel (Borussia Dortmund)

Julian Nagelsmann (Hoffenheim)

Notable captains:

Phillip Lahm (Bayern Munchen)

Marcel Schmelzer (Borussia Dortmund)

Lars Bender (Bayer Leverkusen)

Benedikt Howedes (Schalke 04)

Share Your Thoughts