A Glimpse At The FIFA World Cups

by on October 19, 2013
in FIFA World Cup

FIFA World Cups

FIFA is a short form of Fédération Internationale de Football Association, the internationally leading body of the sport that has been organizing the FIFA World cups every four years since 1930.  However, the horrible environment of the Second World War did not let the tournament take place in 1942 and 1946.  Currently this global association competition involves 32 teams at different places of the host country chosen by FIFA. In the preceding three years, there is a qualification phase arranged to find out qualifying teams for the upcoming World Cup Finals. The year of 2014 would be bringing the next prestigious competition of the FIFA World Cup in Brazil.

Every four year, the world’s most widely viewed sporting event; the FIFA World Cup brings lots of excitement, enthusiasm, pleasure, and thrill for football fans world wide. Millions of people gather at various venues to rejoice the unforgettable moments of each match of the tournament. The most recent FIFA World Cup was held in the year of 2010, and after an interesting competition, Spain named the title by beating Netherlands in the final with 1-0 after extra time.

The World Cup final matches take place in the end of the tournament where the results decide the world champions. An additional 30 minutes are given as an extra play time if the regular play time (90 minutes) finds the score as draw. If the result is same after given additional time, the decision is left on the kicks from the penalty mark. Such kicks are commonly known as a penalty shootout.

The trophy of the FIFA World Cup given from 1930 to 1946 was known the World Cup or Coup du Monde at first. Later in 1945, the name was changed with the Jules Rimet trophy. In 1970 Brazil was privileged with having the trophy everlastingly after naming the title thrice. An Italian designer Silvio Gazzinga is the designer of the currently used trophy. It is made of solid gold and the base made of semi-precious malachite.

The FIFA World Cup has been organized 18 times and only 7 countries have taken the trophy to their homeland. Brazil is the country who named the title for five times so far and this is the only nation who has never missed any FIFA world cup final tournaments as yet. With four titles, Italy is the second whereas Germany is the third most successful country in this prestigious tournament. Below is the list of winners of the FIFA World Cups.

Year of the tournament Winner Country Captain of the winning team
2010 Spain GK Iker Casillas
2006 Italy Fabio Cannavaro
2002 Brazil Cafu
1998 France Didier Deschamps
1994 Brazil


1990 West Germany Lothar Matthäus
1986 Argentina Diego Maradona
1982 Italy Dino Zoff
1978 Argentina Daniel Passarella
1974 West Germany Franz Beckenbauer
1970 Brazil Carlos Alberto
1966 England Bobby Moore
1962 Brazil


1958 Brazil Hilderaldo Bellini
1954 West Germany Fritz Walter
1950 Uruguay
Obdulio Varela


1938 Italy Giuseppe Meazza
1934 Italy Gianpiero Combi
1930 Uruguay José Nasazzi

Share Your Thoughts