An Overview Of Fifa Confederations Cup

by on October 19, 2013

An Overview Of Fifa Confederations Cup

Official Logo of Confederations Cup 2013

The globally leading body of the prestigious sports of football, FIFA (Internationale de Football Association) organizes an association football event for national teams every four year since 2005. This football tournament is famous as the FIFA Confederation Cup where according to the rule, if the world cup winner also wins the confederation trophy, then the second best team of the world cup tournament also needs to come in the FIFA Confederation Cup to ensure that there are eight teams participating in the tournament.

Akin to the FIFA World Cup, the FIFA Confederation Cup takes place every four year and causes almost same level of excitement, passion, contentment and thrill for football’s love around the world. In addition, it makes millions of people get together at diverse venues of the tournament to take pleasure the remarkable moments of every game of the event. As mentioned earlier, the successful participants of six FIFA Confederation championships such as CAF, CONMEBOL, UEFA, AFC, OFC, and CONCACAF take part in the FIFA Confederation Cup.  Moreover the champion of the FIFA World cup as well as the host nation involves themselves in the event to raise the number of teams up to eight.

The most recent FIFA Confederation Cup was held in the month of June, 2013. As per the latest statement of the head of FIFA, Mr. Sepp Blatter, the FIFA Confederation Cup of 2013 was the most excellent edition of the competition ever played.  The tournament was the first national team contest that employed goal line technology which will be an important part of the upcoming event of the FIFA World Cup 2014.

The draw for the struggle of the FIFA Confederation Cup took place at the Palácio das Convenções in the Anhembi Convention Center in São Paulo, Brazil in early December of 2012. Teams from the identical confederation were not drawn in the same group. Instead, all teams from UEFA and from CONMEBOL were drawn in all groups. Brazil and Spain automatically got as A1 and B1 in the order, along with Italy and Uruguay who went respectively to Group A and Group B.

Every participating team entered the group stage and their ranking was determined on the points obtained, goal difference, and number of goals scored in each group match. If two or more teams equally ranked for these criteria, their ranking was according to the points, number of goals scored, and goal difference in the group matches between the teams concerned. The drawing of lots by the FIFA Organizing Committee was also responsible to do the same.

The marvelous event of the FIFA Confederation Cup 2013 was organized as an introduction to the upcoming FIFA World Cup 2014. Brazil, who was the host nation of the event, and one of the contestants of the tournament too, beat Spain with a 3-0 in the final. Brazil had already won the title of Confederation Cup thrice in 1997, 2005 and 2009. With the recent victory of 2013, Brazil named the title for the fourth time. Besides the host nation, the successful participants of the six continental championships took part in the event including Italy who is the second best of UEFA Euro 2012 and Spain-the champion of Euro Cup 2012.

Share Your Thoughts