CONCACAF Gold Cup Results

by on June 6, 2011


Mexico have won the premier national competition in the CONCACAF Gold Cup competition a record five times, while the USA have been champions on four occasions. The only other team to have won the tournament was Canada in 2000, by virtue of beating the invitational team from Columbia 2-0. Mexico won three straight tournaments in 1990’s, by beating the team from the USA 4-0 in 1993 and 1-0 in 1998 and Brazil 2-0 in 1996. Mexico also won the most recent tournament in 2009, via routing team USA 5-0 in the final.

Prior to that the USA won two consecutive tournaments, by achieving victory over Panama (0-0 a.e.t. 3-1 pen) in 2005 and Mexico (2-1) in 2007 respectively. The USA also won in 2002 over Costa Rica (2-0) in addition to winning the inaugural 1991 tournament by virtue of victory over Honduras. (0-0 a.e.t. 4-3 pen) Prior to the renaming and restructuring of the event in 1991, several other teams placed first at other versions of the tournament from 1963. This includes another three Mexico victories, (1965, 1971, 1977) and one for Canada (1985), while Costa Rica was a force to be reckoned with over this period, achieving victory three times. (1963, 1969, 1989) Honduras, (1981) Haiti (1973) and Guatemala (1967) all managed a single victory in the tournament preceding the Gold Cup. This Gold cup is a very esteemed trophy which every team tries hard to win.

Share Your Thoughts

You might also likeclose