EURO Football Championship 1960, 1964 and 1968

by on December 24, 2012
in Football tournaments

Euro 1960

The UEFA European Nations Cup of 1960 was hosted in France and was the first football championship held every four years authorized by UEFA. 4 teams participated in the tournament which lasted from 6 July to 10 July at 2 different venues. A total of 17 goals were scored at 4 matches, witnessed by 78,958 people. The final was won by Soviet Union, placing Yugoslavia on second and Czechoslovakia on third.

Spain obtained the contract to host the 1964 UEFA European Nations Cup in its country which persisted from 17 June to 21 June. 4 matches were played at 2 different venues which were attended by more than 156,000 people. 13 goals were scored in the tournament, where the top-scorers were each with 2 goals. The fastest goal was made by Jesús María Pereda of Spain against USSR. The contest ended with Spain as the Champion, Soviet Union as the runners-up, while Hungary was placed third after winning at the third place play-off against Denmark.

In 1968, Italy hosted the UEFA European Football championship between 5 June and 10 June. 4 teams participated in 5 matches, played in 3 different locations. Only 7 goals were scored in the championship where the fastest goal was scored in 12 minutes by Luigi Riva of Italy. The top-scorer was Dragan Džajić of Yugoslavia with 2 goals in the tournament. In the end, Italy was able to gain victory over Yugoslavia in the replay final, as the previous final was ended up as a tie.

Share Your Thoughts