EURO Football Championship 1972, 1976 and 1980

by on December 24, 2012
in Football tournaments

Euro 1972

The UEFA European football championship of 1972 was hosted in Belgium at 4 different sites from 14 June to 18 June. A total of 4 matches were played in which 10 goals were scored; the top-scorer being Gerd Müller with 2 goals. After the qualifying round, the final tournament took place which consisted of semifinals and finals. The third place pay-off was won by Belgium after qualifying the semifinals, while it was West Germany who marked its victory over Soviet Union in the finals with 3 goals to nil.

The UEFA Euro 1976 was held between 16 June and 20 June at 2 different host cities in Yugoslavia. 19 goals were scored by 4 teams in 4 matches, where the top-scorer was Dieter Müller of Germany with 4 goals in the tournament. 30,790 attendees witnessed the success of Czechoslovakia over Germany in the finals. Whereas, the third place play-off between Netherlands and Yugoslavia was won by Netherlands by 3 goals to 2 after extra time.

Italy was contracted as the host for the UEFA European Football Championship of 1980 which was held from 11 June to 22 June at 4 host cities. 8 teams scored 27 goals in 14 matches, where the top-scorer was Klaus Allofs of West Germany with 3 goals. Statistics also show Antonin Panenka of Czechoslovakia as the player with the fastest goal in a time of 6 minutes. The third place was awarded to Czechoslovakia after defeating Italy in the playoffs, while West Germany kept its head high as champions for the second time after a victory over Belgium in the finals.

Share Your Thoughts