EURO Football Championship 1996 and 2000

by on December 24, 2012
in Football tournaments


The UEFA European football championship of 1996 was held in England between 8 June and 30 June at 8 host cities. A massive 1,276,137 spectators were present in the tournament as the 16 teams made their way through 31 matches. Only 64 goals were scored with an average of 2.06 goals per match, where the fastest goal in 3 minutes of time was scored by Alan Shearer of England and Hristo Stoichkov of Bulgaria. Alan Shearer also got the UEFA Tournament Golden Boot Award after his 5 goals in the contest, whereas the UEFA Player of the tournament was Matthias Sammer of Germany. Germany obtained its 3rd title in the UEFA Euro history after gaining victory over Czech Republic in the finals, making Germany as champions and Czech Republic as runners-up.

The UEFA Euro 2000 was held from 10 June to 2 July at 8 host cities. This was the first time when the finals were co-hosted by Belgium and Netherlands where the attendance was recorded as 36,220 per match on average. Zinedine Zidane of France was titled as the UEFA Player of the Tournament for his performance as a mid-fielder. The top-scorers were Patrick Kluivert of Netherlands and Savo Milošević of Yugoslavia, each with 5 goals in the tournament. A total of 85 goals were scored at an average of 2.74 per match. The tournament ended with France receiving the champion’s title for the second time and Italy as runners-up.

Share Your Thoughts