European Football Championship 1984, 1988 and 1992

by on December 24, 2012
in Football tournaments

Euro 1984

The UEFA Football Championship of 1984 was held from 12 June to 27 June in France at 7 different venues. A total of 8 teams participated in the tournament, where they were able to score 41 goals in 15 matches as a whole. Statistics confirm Michel Platini of France as both the top-scorer with 9 goals, and the player with the fastest goal in 3 minutes of time. The tournament was ended with France as UEFA champions for the first time and Spain as the runners-up.

West Germany hosted the UEFA Euro 1988 which lasted from 10 June to 25 June. 8 teams participated in 15 matches at 8 different locations and were able to attract a crowd of more than 880,000! A total of 34 goals were scored where Sergei Aleinikov of Soviet Union managed to strike the fastest goal in the tournament in 3 minutes of time, while Marco van Basten of Netherlands was regarded as the top-scorer with 5 goals. As per the new tournament structure that was initiated from 1984, Netherlands gained the champion’s title and Soviet Union the runners-up.

The UEFA Euro 1992 was hosted in Sweden at 4 different sites all of them being in host cities. This tournament lasted from 10 June to 26 June in which 8 teams participated. A total of 32 goals were scored in 15 matches where the fastest goal was scored after 1min 37 sec, by Frank Rijkaard of Netherlands. The final was won by Denmark after defeating Germany, making itself as champions.

Share Your Thoughts