FIFA World Cup history: Which teams have won the final?

Best-football-players-everFounded                              1930

Most successful team    Brazil with 5 titles

Current Champions        Spain with 1 title

The football World Cup is an international FIFA tournament founded in 1930. It was established by the men’s world football governing body Federation Internationale de Football Association (FIFA). The event occurs every 4 years, except in the years 1942 and 1946 when it was cancelled because of World War 2. The most recent football World Cup was held in South Africa 2010 and Spain won by beating Netherlands by a goal to nil in extra time. The next FIFA World Cup will take place from 12th June to 13th July 2014 in Brazil.

 World Cup finals are the end games in the competition, and the outcome will determine the victor, and World Cup winner. If after regular play i.e. 90 minutes the scores are draw, an additional 30 minutes of extra time will be introduced. If after this time, the scores are still level, the game will be decided through penalty shoot-outs. The team that wins these shoot-outs will be declared world champion.

In the past 19 tournaments that have taken place, 76 countries have qualified atleast once. Twelve of them have appeared in the finals, of which eight have actually won. Brazil has the most success for any team in the World Cup, having won five titles, and they are the only team to take part in every World Cup competition. Italy follows behind with four titles, and Germany lie third with three. Other former champions include; Uruguay who won the inaugural tournament, and Argentina with two titles each. England and France are also former champions with single titles each. The current champions are Spain, who won their first championship at the 2010 World Cup in South Africa. South Africa was the first African country to host the tournament in 2010, and Japan and South Korea were the first and only Asians to co-host the 2002 World Cup.

1930 Final

Uruguay beat Argentina 4-2 to win the title. Venue was Estadio Centenario in Montevideo, Uruguay.

1934 Final

Italy beat Czechoslovakia 2-1 at the Stadio Nazionale in Rome to win the title.

1948 Final

Italy beat Hungary 4-2 in match played at Stade Olympique de Colombes in Paris to win the cup.

1950 Final

Uruguay beat Brazil 2-1 in match played at the Estádio do Maracanã in Rio de Janerio.

1954 Final

West Germany beat Hungary 3-2 in a match played at the Wankdorf Stadium in Bern, Switzerland.

1958 Final

Brazil beat Sweden 5-2 in a match played at the Råsunda Stadium in Solna, Sweden

1962 Final

Brazil beat Czechoslovakia 3-1 in a match played at the Estadio Nacional in Santiago, Chile.

1966 Final

England beat West Germany 4-2 at Wembley Stadium in London, England.

1970 Final

Brazil Beat Italy 4-1 at the Estadio Azteca in Mexico City, Mexico.

1974 Final

West Germany beat the Netherlands 2-1 at the Olympiastadion in Munich.

1978 Final

Argentina beat the Netherlands 3-1 at the Estadio Monumental in Buenos Aires, Argentina

1982 Final

Italy beat West Germany 3-1 at the Santiago Bernabeu in Madrid, Spain.

1986 Final

Argentina beat West Germany at the Estadio Azteca in Mexico City, Mexico.

1990 Final

West Germany beat Argentina 1-0 at the Stadio olimpico in Rome, Italy.

1994 Final

Brazil beat Italy through penalty shoot-outs after 0-0 draw at the Rose Bowl in Pasadena, United States.

1998 Final

France beat Brazil 3-0 at the Stade de France in Saint-Denis, France

2002 Final

Brazil beat Germany 2-0 at the International Stadium in Yokohama, Japan.

2006 Final

Italy beat France through penalty shoot-outs after a 1-1 draw at the Olympiastadion in Berlin, Germany.

2010 Final

Spain beat the Netherlands 1-0 at Soccer City in Johannesburg, South Africa.

Share Your Thoughts