Football at the 1908, 1912 and 1920 Olympics

by on December 24, 2012
in FIFA, Football tournaments

Olympics Football

The football tournament at the 1908 Olympics was contested in London, Great Britain which lasted from 19 October to 24 October. 72 competitors from 5 nations competed in the tournament which was the first time the tournament was contested between national representatives’ selections. There was only a final tournament with Quarterfinals, Semifinals and Finals. The finals consisted of a bronze and a gold medal match. Considering the bronze medal match, Netherlands gained victory over Sweden, while it was Great Britain who was awarded a gold medal at the gold medal match with Denmark.

The 1912 Olympics featured a football tournament at Stockholm, Sweden from 29 June to 4 July in which 135 players from 11 nations competed. After the quarter and semifinals, the bronze medal match took place which was successfully won by Netherlands after scoring 9 goals against Finland. The finals were held on July 4 between Great Britain and Denmark where Great Britain was able to claim a fair win against Denmark by scoring 4 goals to 2. Consequently, a combined 26,000 attendees witnessed Great Britain with a gold medal, Denmark with silver and Netherlands with bronze.

The football contest at the 1920 Olympics was hosted in Antwerp, Belgium from August 28 to September 5 where 190 players from 14 teams participated. The second place final was held as a consolation round between Spain and Italy which was succeeded by Spain to become the bronze medalist. However, there was no need of a consolation round for the finals between Belgium and Czechoslovakia, where Belgium gained victory over its opponent by 2 goals to nil.

Share Your Thoughts