Football at the 1948, 1952 and 1956 Olympics

by on December 24, 2012
in FIFA, Football tournaments

Olympics Football

The football tournament at the 1948 Olympics was hosted in United Kingdom from 26 July to 13 August. There were a total of 28 matches played in which 102 goals were scored. The competition was divided into 3 rounds; the preliminary round, the first and then the second round comprising of quarterfinals, semifinals, and a final bronze and gold medal match. The tournament was won by Sweden, followed by the silver medalist Yugoslavia, and then the Denmark with a bronze medal. The top-scorer was Gunnar Nordahl of Sweden and John Hansen of Denmark, each scoring 7 goals in the contest.

The football competition at the 1952 Olympics was held in Finland and persisted from 15 July to 2 August. This event was an indication of the arrival of the Hungary National Football Team, also known as the ‘Golden Team’.  After the preliminary and first round, the qualifying teams entered the quarterfinals where teams were shortlisted again to compete with each other in the semifinals. The successful teams (Germany and Sweden) played the bronze medal match were Sweden gained victory, while it was Hungary who won the gold medal in the final match with Yugoslavia.

The football contest at the 1956 Olympics was held in Australia and lasted from 24 November to 8 December. The tournament had only 11 participating teams with 5 withdrawals. The final gold medal match featured Soviet Union and Yugoslavia. The Soviet Union won the gold medal while Yugoslavia was awarded with silver and Bulgaria with bronze.

Share Your Thoughts

You might also likeclose