Football at the 2004 and 2008 Summer Olympics

by on December 24, 2012
in FIFA, Football tournaments

Olympics 2008

The football tournament of 2004 was hosted in Athens, Greece which persisted from 11 August to 28 August. Considering the men’s tournament, a total of 32 matches was played at 6 different venues by 16 teams and were able to reach a sum of 101 goals. The standout player was Carlos Tévez that managed to score 8 goals in the tournament. 401,415 people attended in the men’s tournament and witnessed Argentina with the gold medal, Paraguay with the silver and Italy with a bronze. The women’s tournament was won by United States with Brazil and Germany being awarded with a silver and bronze medal, respectively.

In 2008, the football tournament was a success in terms of the attendance which reached 2,144,268 with an average of 36,970 people per match over 58 matches. The host nation was China and the event commenced from 6 August and ended on 23 August. 28 teams from 6 confederations participated in the tournament and managed to score a total of 135 goals. Matches were comprised of a preliminary round, quarterfinals, semifinals, a bronze and a gold medals match. The top scorer in the men’s tournament was Giuseppe Rossi of Italy with 4 goals, while it was Cristiane of Brazil with 5 goals in the women’s tournament. The tournament was finished with Argentina obtaining the gold medal, Nigeria the silver, and Brazil the bronze in the men’s tournament, while the United States, Brazil and Germany were awarded with a gold, silver and bronze medal in the women’s tournament, respectively.

Share Your Thoughts