Football tournament: CONCACAF Gold Cup

by on June 6, 2011

Football tournament: CONCACAF Gold Cup

The CONCACAF Gold Cup is the premier national football team tournament of the continental area governed by the CONCACAF body with the winner going on to compete at the FIFA Confederations Cup against the champion nation of each of the other five continental federations. The CONCACAF Gold Cup competition has been held under its current name since 1991 and has been in existence since 1963 under various titles and formats.

Currently it is contested between the top 12 nations of the continental region, with three national football teams from the North American zone qualifying along with the five top nations competing at the Central American Cup a competition held exclusively for the Central American Zone, and four qualifying via the Caribbean Cup, held among nations from the Caribbean Zone. A few non-CONCACAF nations have previously competed in the Gold Cup via invitation including Brazil and Columbia at three staging’s of the event each. The tournament is currently generally hosted by the nation which previously won it; the USA has staged the tournament a record 11 times with Mexico being the host nation on three occasions. Along with being the most successful nation to compete in the Gold Cup, Mexico is also the defending champions of the competition.

Share Your Thoughts

You might also likeclose