Football tournament: FIFA World Club Championship

by on January 20, 2012
in Football tournaments

FIFA world cup championship Format of FIFA World Club Championship

The FIFA World Club Championship is an annual club tournament held between the winners of The Champions of each 6 footballing confederation. The tournament started out in 2000 in Brazil and it was merged with the intercontinental cup and Copa Liberatodores in 2005. It started of with 8 teams and then 6 teams but now it starts with 7 teams and is usually held sometime around December. The tournament is usually a knockout round in which The European Champions usually join during The Semi Finals.

Performance By Club – FIFA World Club

Barcelona, Internacionale, Inter Milan, Manchester United, AC Milan, Sao Paulo and Cornithians have all won the tournament once. Barcelona have also finished runner ups once and competed in the tournament a record 3 times. Al Ahly have also competed in the tournament a record 3 times but have failed to win it and their best place finish has been 3rd.

Performance By Country – FIFA World Club

Clubs from Brazil have won The FIFA World Club Championship a record 3 times. They won it first in 2000, then 2005 and then in 2006, their team also finished runners-up in 2000 and third in 2010. Italy are second on the list of most FIFA World Club Championship wins, winning it 2 times in 2007 and 2010. Spain have won The Championship just once in 2009 finished runner ups in 2006 and third in 2000. Clubs from England have won it once in 2008 and finished runners up in 2005. Argentina have never won it and finished runner ups twice in 07 and 09. While Ecuador have finished runners up in 2008. DR Congo finished runners up in 2010. Japan have finished third twice in 2007 and 2008 while Mexico also finished third in 2000 and came in fourth place a record 3 times in 2006, 2008 and 2009. South Korea finished third in 2009 while fourth in 2010. Clubs from Egypt have just made the list once when they finished 3rd in 2006. Costa Rica also finished 3rd in 2005. While Tunisia have finished fourth once in 2007 and Saudia Arabia achieved the same feat in 2005.

Performance by Confederation –FIFA World Club

Unlike the performance by countries the performance by Confederation is slightly different. The UEFA confederation comes in first having won the tournament a record 4 times in 2007, 2008, 2009 and 2010. They also finished runners up two times in 2005 and 2006 while they finished fourth once in 2000. In second is CONMEBOL confederation that have won it 3 times in 2000, 2005 and 2006 and finished runner-up a record 4 times in 2000, 2007, 2008 and in 2009. They also finished third in 2010. No other Confederation has the honor of winning The FIFA Club World Championships. But CAF confederation finished runners up in 2010, third in 2006 and fourth in 2007. While The AFC Confederation has finished third 3 times in 2007, 2008 and 2009 and fourth in 2005 and 2010. The CONCACAF confederation has finished third twice in 2000 and 2005 while fourth 3 times in 06,08 and 09.

Top Goal Scorers – FIFA World Club

Denilson of Pohang Steelers is the top goal scorer in the tournament with 4 goals. While Aboutrika, Anelka, Molina, Romario, Wayne Rooney and Washington all have 3 goals in the tournament. While Dwight Yorke remains the only player in FIFA Club World Cup history to score a goal for two different clubs. He’s scored for Manchester United and Sydney FC one goal each. Edilson won the Golden Ball in 2000 while Ceni won it in 2005. Deco in 2006, Kaka in 2007, Wayne Rooney in 2008, Lionel Messi in 2009 and Samuel Eto’o in 2010.

Share Your Thoughts

You might also likeclose