Football tournaments: Copa Libertadores – South American football

by on January 20, 2012
in Football tournaments

Football tournament: Copa Libertadores

Copa Libertadores is a football tournament held in South America every year by CONMEBOL since 1960. It is one of the most popular tournaments in the world and is considered as a true honor to win it. 38 teams from around the best leagues in South America start out and compete each other for the title. The tournament lasts over 8 months and is played over 3 stages. The last stage is the knockout stage in which two legged ties are played QFs, SFs, and finals are played.

Winners of Copa Libertadores- From 1990-2010

Independiente have won the Copa Libertadores a record 7 times. Santos from Brazil are the current champions. Boca Juniors have won it 6 times coming in 2nd in the all time list. Argentina leads the list of clubs with the most Copa Libertadores wins with 22 wins. Brazil is second with 15 wins and Uruguay is 3rd with 8 wins. While Paraguay and Colombia come in 4th and 5th in the all time list with 3 wins and 2 wins respectively.

A lot of people believe that football is at its best in South America. A proof of this fact is the dominance of South American nations in World Cup football results. However, the club level football is better organized and more popular in Europe. Moreover, majority of the popular South American footballers play league football in Europe making tournaments like this one less colorful.

Share Your Thoughts

You might also likeclose