History and Foreign players of Athletic Bilbao

by on September 22, 2010
in Spanish La Liga League

Italian football club Athletic Bilbao

Athletic Bilbao Club is founded in the year 1928 and has played in La Liga since it was founded. Athletic Bilbao dominated the Spanish football throughout the early years by becoming Spanish Champions in 1902, 1903, 1904, 1910 and 1911. The game of football was brought to Bilbao by the British worker who formed the Bilbao Football club in early 1890s. The Basque students returned from the schools of Britain founded the Athletic Club in 1898. These two Bilbao clubs combined together to form the Club Vizcaya to win the first Copa del Rey in 1902. The newly formed Athletic Club de Bilbao had won the Copa del Rey in the year 1903. They have won five Copa del Rey in 1914, 1915, 1916, 1921 and 1923. It was one of the last major clubs that did not have a logo of an official sponsor on their uniform. But from 2008, the club is wearing the logo of Petronor Oil Company based on Biscay.

Athletic Bilbao is a club that never has had any foreign player in their team. The club is famous for their ‘cantera’ policy of recruiting young Basque players through ranks as well as top Basque players from other clubs. Cantera policy is an official policy of the club in which native professional players of greater Basque country that includes Biscay, Alava, Navarre and Guipuzcoa (in Spain) and Soule, Labourd and Lower Navarre (in France) can be signed as a player. Now-a-days, the policy is relaxed and the players with direct ancestry of Basque or without Basque ancestry but played in other Basque clubs can play in the team. The club is famous for promoting players who are from the home land as well as the loyalty towards them. Athletic Bilbao has been producing many famous Spanish players throughout their history and among the Telmo Zarra is the all time top scorer of La Liga.

Share Your Thoughts

You might also likeclose