History and Foreign players of Atletico Madrid

by on September 23, 2010
in Spanish La Liga League

squad of atletico bilbao of spanish football league

Atletico Madrid was founded on 26th April 1903 as Athletic Club de Madrid. The club was founded by three Basque students of Madrid. The founders considered that the club is the youth branch of Athletic Bilbao. Initially, they were playing in blue and white jersey which is quite similar to Athletic Bilbao. But by 1911, they began to play in red and white stripes. In 1921, the club became independent from the parent club Atheltic Bilbao. The first ground of Atletitco was the Ronda de Vallecas and in 1921, they moved to the current Estadio Vicente Calderon. The golden age of the club was between 1947 and 1965. They had won La Liga of 1950 and 1951, two consecutive Copa del Rey (1960, 1961) and European Cup Winners Cup in 1962. The club had won the La Liga titles of 1966, 1970, 1973 and 1977. They had also won the Copa del Rey titles of 1965, 1972 and 1976.

Larbi Benbarek was a Moroccan player who played as a midfielder at the club.  Atletico Madrid won La Liga titles of 1950 and 1951 with the help of Benbarek. Edgardo Madinabeytia was an Argentinean goal keeper and he made a total of 237 appearances for the club. Ruben Ayala is a former Argentinean striker who played 169 matches for the club. Luiz Pereira was a Brazilian player played as a centre back. Ruben Cano is a former Argentinean player of the club. Luis Cabrera is a former Argentinean striker of the Atletico. Hugo Sanchez is a former Mexican striker. Paulo Futre is a former Portuguese left winger of the club. Sergio Aguero is an Argentinean striker who currently plays for Atletico Madrid.

Some of the foreign players of Atletico Madrid are:

  1. Larbi Ben Barek
  2. Edgardo Madinabeytia
  3. Jorge Grifffa
  4. Ruben Ayala
  5. Luis Pereira
  6. Ruben Cano
  7. Mario Cabrera
  8. Hugo Sanchez
  9. Paulo Futre
  10. Sergio Aguero

Share Your Thoughts