History of Manchester United

by on September 16, 2010
in English Premier League

english premier league manchester united football clubManchester United FC was founded in the year 1878 as Newton Heath LYR Football Club. Because of financial issues in the year 1902, the club changed the name in to Manchester United. The club became bankrupt six years before their first league title and ten years after they joined The Football League. This club’s current home playing ground is Old Trafford. Old Trafford is the second largest football ground in UK. Manchester United football club won their European Cup in 1968 and became the first English football club to win the European Cup.

The club has won four league Cups, 11 FA cups which is a record and eighteen league titles in its history. Manchester United had won 11 English Premier League titles which equaled the record of FC Liverpool’s 18 top flight league titles. Manchester United FC also won three successive English Premier League titles. Manchester United football club had won the titles Community Shields and World Club cup. Manchester United football club is one of the most successful clubs not only from English Premiere League but also from UEFA. Manchester United football club has proved its quality time and again while playing against many star studded and talented opponents. Manchester United is one of the most popular football clubs globally. 


2 Responses to “History of Manchester United”

Share Your Thoughts

You might also likeclose