Italian Serie A- International Cups

by on September 26, 2010
in Italian League

Italian serie a football

Two International Cups are played in the Italian Serie A, UEFA Champions League and UEFA Europa League. UEFA Champions League is also known as Champions League. Champions League is an association football competition run annually by UEFA from 1955 for the European top football clubs. Final of the competition will be played along with NFL’s Super Bowl. The competition consists of round-robin group phase and more teams. Now even the strongest national leagues of Europe provide four teams each for the competition. The competition is played in several stages. The competition starts in the mid of July with three knockout and a play-off round. In the group stage, ten surviving teams will join the 22 seeded teams. The eight winners and the runners-up of the group will enter the first knockout phase and the final match will be played in May. The winner of Champions League qualifies for the UEFA Super Cup and FIFA Club World Cup.

UEFA Europa League is an annual competition runs by UEFA for eligible clubs in Europe. UEFA Europa League is the second prestigious club competition after Champions League. Based on the performance in national leagues and cup competitions, the clubs will qualify for the competition. Now there are 12 groups of four teams in the group stage. Then 4 rounds of two-legged knockouts and a one-off final held at a neutral ground meeting UEFA’s Elite stadium criteria. The 12 winners and 12 runners-up in the group stage will go to the first knockout round along with eight third places teams from the group stage of Champions League.

Share Your Thoughts

You might also likeclose