Looking back at the later stages of the FIFA 2010 World Cup South Africa

WC2010The FIFA 2010 was the 19th World Cup tournament, and it took place between the 11th June and 11th July, in South Africa. The games took place across 10 stadiums encompassing 9 host cities. The final match between Spain and Netherlands was played at Soccer City stadium, in Johannesburg. In all, Thirty-two teams took part in the event through world qualification matches that ran from August 2007. During the competition, teams competed against each other in groups that featured four teams. Two top teams proceeded to the knock-out phase where rounds of play to place to decide which team qualified for the final.

Quarter Finals

Three quarter final matches took place between South American and Europeans teams, and the Europeans came out victors. Germany beat Argentina 4-0, and Netherlands beat Brazil 2-1. Spain joined the last four teams by beating Paraguay 1-0. Uruguay was the only non-European team to qualify for the last four after beating Ghana in penalty shoot-outs.

On the 2nd of July 2010 in a match played at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Port Elizabeth, the Netherlands beat Brazil 2-1 courtesy of a brace from Wesley Sneijder, and a consolation from Robinho. Yuiuchi Nishimura from Japan was the match official. On the same date at Soccer City Stadium, Johannesburg, Uruguay beat Ghana 4-2 in penalties to secure Uruguay with a semi-final spot. Portuguese referee Olegario Benquerenca took charge of the proceedings.

The other quarter final matches took place on 3 July 2010 between Argentina and Germany; Paraguay and Spain. Argentina lost 4-0 to Germany courtesy to goals from Muller, Klose and Friedrich. The match was played in Cape Town’s Green Point stadium. The same day at Ellis Park Stadium in Johannesburg, Spain beat Paraguay 1-0 courtesy of a David Villa goal in the 83rd minute.


Netherlands qualified for the final after beating Uruguay 3-2, and Spain reached their maiden final with a victory over Germany 1-0. It was the first time a World Cup final did not feature Brazil, Germany, Argentina or Italy.


The final match was held at Soccer City stadium on the 11th of July. Spain beat the Netherlands by a goal to neal courtesy of a goal by Andres Iniesta. Iniesta’s goal was the World Cup winning goal (116’) to give the Spaniards their first ever World Cup victory. The win also made the Spanish the 8th team to clinch the championship. It also made Spain the first team to win after losing their opening game, and one to win with no home advantage ever since Brazil in 1958.


11 July 2010 Netherlands 0-1 SpainIniesta 116’ Soccer City, JohannesburgReferee: Howard Webb (England


All Star Team 2010

  • Iker Casillas
  • Sergio Ramos
  • Carlos Puyol
  • Maicon
  • Philipp Lahm
  • Andres Iniesta
  • Xavi
  • Bastian Schweinsteiger
  • Wesley Sneijder
  • Diego Forlan
  • David Villa
  • Coach (Vicent del Bosque)

The closing ceremony featured a performance by Shakira, and a brief appearance by former South African president, Nelson Mandela.

Share Your Thoughts

You might also likeclose