Most Goals in a Career, Season and Match by Athletic Bilbao

by on September 22, 2010
in Spanish La Liga League

Italian football club Athletic Bilbao

Telmo Zarra had scored a total of 333 goals from 352 matches for the club. Among the 333 goals scored, 252 are league goals and 81 goals are cup goals. Guillermo played 256 games for the club and scored 198 goals. Agustin Arana played 208 matches and scored 208 goals for the club. Jose Iraragorri played 240 games and scored 179 goals for Athletic Bilbao. Carlos Ruiz scored 115 goals from 275 games. Eneka Arieta played 302 games for the club and scored 170 goals. Rafael Iriondo scored 115 goals from 323 matches played for Athletic Bilbao. Jose Artetxe scored 133 goals from 345 matches. Artetxe spent 15 seasons of his career in Athletic Bilbao and had won one championship and 3 Copa del Reys. Daniel Justa scored 147 goals from 302 matches. Agustin Gainza had scored 120 goals from 381 appearances for the club. Gainza served the club as a captain and had a record of playing in nine Copa del Generalisimo finals.

Telmo Zarra had scored most goals in a season, that is, 38 goals in 1950-51. Agustin Arana won the Pichichi trophy in the year 1930-31 by scoring 27 goals in that season. Carlos Ruiz had scored 19 goals in 32 games during the season of 1974-75. Ruiz also won the Pichichi trophy that season. Eneko Arieta scored 20 goals in 28 league games in the season of 1954-55. Daniel Justa netted 29 goals in 46 official games in the year 1976-77. Athletic Bilbao became the all time La Liga goal scorer at home matches in the season of 1930-31 with 5.44 goals per match. The club also became the all time goal scorer in away matches of La Liga in the season of 1931-32 with an average of 3.11 goals per match. It has the record of all time scorer of La Liga in one season in both home and away matches with 4.06 goals per match in the season of 1930-31. Biggest away victories are in the season of 1932-33 with 16 victories out of 18 games played.

Most goals scored in a home match are against FC Barcelona which is 12-1 in 1930-31. The club scored 8 goals in an away match against Osasuna in 1958-59. Athletic Bilbao scored 12 goals against Celta de Vigo’s 1 goal in a Copa del Rey match of 1946-47. The club also scored 7 goals against one goal of Standard Liege in a match of European competition in the season 2004-05. Telmo Zarra holds the record of scoring most goals in a final match of Copa del Rey with 4 goals. Telmo Zarra also holds the record to become the top scorer in the history of La Liga. Zarra became the top scorer of La Liga for six times. Gainza holds the record of most goals scored in La Liga match with 8 goals. Augustin “Bata’ Arana has the highest scoring average in a La Liga match with 0.92 goals per match played.

Share Your Thoughts