Performance record of Red Bull Salzburg (Austria Salzburg)

by on April 21, 2011
in Football Clubs

Austrian football club FC-Red-Bull-Salzburg

FC Red Bull Salzburg, the current Austrian Bundesliga Champions has a total of six Austrian division one trophies. It won its first league trophy in the 1993-94 season by finishing two points ahead of FK Austria Wien. The Bulls claimed their second trophy the following year on the basis of goal difference when it drew with SK Strum Graz on level points. Both these trophies were won when the club was known as a SV Austria Salzburg. The club won its third trophy as SV Wüstenrot Salzburg in 1996-97 season.

The Bulls then had to wait for a decade to win its next championship trophy and it turned out be worth waiting. Under the experienced Italian tactician Giovanni Trapattoni Bulls won the league comfortably finishing the league with club record of 75 points with an impressive goal difference of 47. Alexander Zickler finished the season with a tally of 22 goals. The next trophy came in 2008-09 season thanks to a club scoring record by Marc Janko who netted 39 times.

Amazingly, the club has yet to win the Austrian Cup. The cup as become a holy grail for the club as they have finished as runners up for four times.

On European front, the club’s best performance came in 1994 as SV Casino Salzburg when it finished second to Inter Milan football club.

Share Your Thoughts

You might also likeclose