South American football championship: Copa America

by on July 4, 2011
in Copa America

copa-america-South America football tournament Okay so we are done with UEFA football Champions league and Spanish La Liga, now its time for another big event it the world of football. Copa America formerly known as South American Championship has just started and its fever is on its hype.

About Copa America, commenced by Argentina in 1916, is one of the much awaited tournaments by the football fans all over the world. It comprises of 10 South American top football teams namely Argentina, Brazil, Uruguay, Paraguay, Peru, Venezuela, Colombia, Chile and Ecuador. It also includes two invitees, this year Mexico and Costa Rica is going to be those two. Organized by CONMEBOL which is governing body of South American football, this is going to be the 43rd event.

Over all it has been successful 43 years with amazingly only few ups and downs which only stopped the event to take place on annual basis to every 2 years then after 3 and then after 4 years.

This year’s (2011) event is hosted by Argentina hosting it for the 9th time, which will get off the ground on July 1 till July 24, and it’s surely going to be full action packed 18 days for any football lover!

Football fans from all across the globe love South American football and they enjoy this tournament.

Share Your Thoughts

You might also likeclose