Spain’s Primera Division (La Liga) Domestic and International Cups

la_liga_logoDomestic cup of La Liga is Copa del Rey and it is the annual football competition for Spanish football teams. The full name of Copa del Rey is Campeonato de Espana. Copa del Rey competition was founded in the year 1902. FC Barcelona has won the cup for maximum number of times i.e. 25 times. Copa del Rey has been the “National Championship” of Spain’s football since 1903. The competition was first known as Copa del Ayuntamiento de Madrid. During 1905-32, the competition was known as Copa de Su Majestad El Rey Alfonso XII. There have been 12 original trophies throughout the history of Copa del Rey. If a club wins the competition for three consecutive times or five separate occasions, then the trophy is permanently awarded to that club. Copa del Rey was a national championship before the formation of La Liga. The winners of Copa del Rey will qualify for both Supercopa de Espana and UEFA Europa League. Read more..