Famous Football Player Oliver Kahn

Oliver Kahn

Oliver Rolf Kahn played as a goalkeeper for the German football team and was born on the 15th of June, 1969. His career started by playing on behalf of a junior team Karlsruher SC however, the player made his professional debut match in international football in the 1987. The year 1994 marked his transfer to the Bayern Munich at a fee amounting to 4,600,600 DM and he continued playing for the team until his career ended in the year 2008. After seeking retirement, he joined hands with ZDF sports team and became an analyst for the games played by the German National Team. He also participated in the jury of 2009 in which China’s best goalkeeper reality show.

Oliver Kahn was a very successful German player and holds to his title 8 German championships, 6 times German cups, one time the UEFA Cup in the year 1996, the Intercontinental Cup and the UEFA Champions League. In addition to this, his extraordinary performance as an individual player which made him earn the UEFA Best European Goalkeeper four times in a row, IFFHS World’s Best Goalkeeper as well as two trophies of being the German Footballer of the Year. Moreover, he was also the only goalkeeper of the FIFA World Cup in the year 2008 who won the Golden Ball. Oliver Kahn also saw the worst of his football career in a match against England in the year 2001. In the match team Germany was favored to win however, the team lost the match. In spite of the defeat, Germany managed to win the World Cup and Kahn was named to be the best goalkeeper by IFFHS of the 2nd time in his professional football career.

Top ten goalies and defenders of UEFA-All time

by on December 6, 2010
in UEFA Champions League

Oliver Kahn, popular football goal keeper Read more..

Top FIFA Goalkeepers of 1978-2006

by on June 20, 2010

Gianluigi Buffon

I brought her some (goalkeeper) gloves after a basketball game and she liked the way they felt.

There is something in the gloves which makes a goalie perfect. Those gloves are meant to create marvel by saving the goals in the most astounding ways. Since 1930, magical goalkeepers have been appearing and setting records in World Cup. They jump, they flip, they slide, they sweep and go to any extent to save their net from being attacked by the opponents. Have a look at the most outstanding World Cup goalkeepers in 1978-2006:

2006 FIFA World Cup (Germany)

• Gianluigi Buffon (Italy)
• Jens Lehmann (Germany)
• Ricardo (Portugal)

2002 FIFA World Cup (Korea/Japan)

• Oliver Kahn (Germany)

• Rüştü Reçber (Turkey)

1998 FIFA World Cup (France)

• Fabien Barthez (France)
• José Luis Chilavert (Paraguay)

1994 FIFA World Cup (USA)

• Michel Preud’Homme (Belgium)

1990 FIFA World Cup (Italy)

• Sergio Goycochea (Argentina)
• Gabelo Conejo (Costa Rica)

1986 FIFA World Cup (Mexico)

• Harald “Toni” Schumacher (Germany)

1982 FIFA World Cup (Spain)

• Dino Zoff (Italy)

1978 FIFA World Cup (Argentina)

• Ubaldo Matildo Fillol aka El Pato (Argentina)

Did you notice that most of the goalkeepers gave their best performance at home? Wait for the 2010 FIFA World Cup to end and see who is going to come next in this list.

Keep watching and come back for an update!