F.C. Porto football club profile

by on April 5, 2011
in Football Clubs

FC Porto Portuguese club

Porto Football Club, also known as FC Porto, FCP or Porto, is a Portuguese international league football team located in Porto, Portugal. The club was founded in September 28, 1893, and Nicolau de Almeida was the first president of the club. F.C. Porto is currently playing in the Portugal First Division (Portuguese Liga) at top position. FC Porto plays home games in Estadio do Dragao, having capacity of 52,000 spectators.

F.C. Porto are known as the “Portistas”, “Dragons” and “Azuis e Brancos (Blues and Whites)” among their fans. The club is sponsored by NIKE and plays home games in Blue and White stripe combination jersey with Blue shorts and away games in yellow jersey with black shorts.

FC Porto are ranked amongst the top three teams in Portugal along with Benfica Football Club and Sporting Football Club. The club holds the record for winning 5 “Portuguese Liga” title in a row, having won the title 24 times in total. The club has also won 15 “Portuguese Cup” titles and 17 “Portuguese Supercup” titiles on domestic level.

Over the few years, FC Porto grew as a strong contender in both the domestic and international level with a clear vision of becoming the greatest clubs of Europe. 1980s was regarded as the most successful season in the history of Porto’s football. The club won the major international titles “European Cup”, “The International Cup” and “European Supercup” in 1987 and 1988 season-an outstanding performance and achievement, a proof of success of a special approach of sports. Few years later, FC porto achieved a goal that no other club in the history of football ever dare to.

F.C. Porto have won countless awards in the history of clubs’ football, a milestone for any club. The club stand 3rd on the last season table of Portuguese Liga and the future is more dominant as the team is performing quite brilliantly in the current on-going season.