Top 10 players of Real Zaragoza football club

gabriel_fernandez of Zaragoza football club Read more..

Performance record of Real Zaragoza football club

Real Zaragoza football club

Real Zaragoza S.A.D. are one of those Spanish professional league clubs which could surprise you with the biggest up-sets on the field against any European side. They play great football with great techniques. They had a long football history with many historic moments which throw the sufficient light to prove them as one of the best teams in Spain.

Real Zaragoza football club won the first title for club in 1963/64 season by winning the Copa del Rey trophy. The very next season, the club won the same title for two consecutive years and repeated in 1985-86, 1993-94, 2000-01, and 2003-04 seasons.

The club has spent most of its time in the Spanish top-flight, playing 56 seasons in La Liga, while 16 seasons in Second Division and 4 seasons in Third Division.

Real Zaragoza football club is more often regarded as the Spanish mid-table league team and has an honor winning the major trophies like UEFA Cup Winners’s Cup back in 1994-95 season.


  • Copa del Rey: 6 (1963/64, 1965/66, 1985/86, 1993/94, 2000/01, 2003/04)
  • Spanish Supercup: 1 (2004)
  • Inter-Cities Fairs Cup: 1 (1963/64)
  • UEFA Cup Winners’ Cup: 1 (1994/95)
  • Segunda Division: 1 (1977/78)


  • 56 seasons in La Liga
  • 16 seasons in Segunda Division
  • 4 seasons in Tercera Division

Best League position: 2nd (74/75 season)

Worst place in the league:  20th (season 01/02)

Overall La Liga historical classification: 9th

  • Most matches: Aguado (473), Violeta (471), Juan Manuel Villa (382)
  • Most minutes: Aguado (33,480), Violeta (29,042), Senor (26,984)
  • Most goals all time: Marcello (117), Murillo (113), Pichi Alonso (112)
  • Most goals in a season: Ewerthon (28), Seminario (25)
  • Foreign players with most appearances: Gustavo Povet (239)
  • Highest red cards: Aguado (18), Cuartero (8), Belsue (6)

Honours as a Player

  • Pichichi Trophy
  • Juan Seminario: 24 goals (1961/62)

Real Zaragoza football club profile

Spanish football club Zaragoza

Real Zaragoza S.A.D. is a Spanish international league football team, located in Zaragoza, Aragon, Spain. The club was founded on March 18, 1932 and plays in the Spanish top League (La Liga). The club plays home games at “La Romareda” stadium, having capacity of 35,000 people.

Real Zaragoza S.A.D., well known as the “Blanquillos” and “Manos”, plays home games in white jersey with royal blue shorts, and black and yellow away kits.

Real Zaragoza football club has a strong history playing most of the football years in the Spanish top-division.  They are Spain’s 9th highest ranked team in overall league points, and ranked 6th overall for cup wins.

The today Real Zaragoza football team was originally a found of two rival teams, Iberia SC and Real Zaragoza CD. By the 1930, the team was doing well in La Liga but the Civil War put a break on their progress.

The club has successfully played 56 seasons in La Liga, 16 in Second Division and 4 seasons in third Division, including 4 appearances in UEFA Championship. 1960’s was the golden era for Real Zaragoza. Though they failed to win their ever league title (La Liga) yet they did succeed in finishing in the top 5 every year from the 1960-61 season up until the 1968-69 season. In 1963-64 and 1965-66 season they also won their two Copa del Rey trophies and repeated in the later years of 1985-86, 1993-94, 2000-01 and 2003-04 season.  In 60s, the club also won the Inter-Cities Fairs Cup.

Real Zaragoza football club is regarded as one of the strongest Spanish league team, mostly played in mid-table position of top division. But unfortunately this season they are just hanging on the 15th position on the La Liga 2010-11 table and four points away from the relegation zone and Almeria football club.