English Premier League 2010/11-As it happened!

English premier league 2010-2011 Read more..

Performance record of Wolverhampton Wanderers football club

 Wolverhampton Wanderers football club

Wolverhampton Wanderers football club have a strong history of playing great football over the years. Well known as the Wolves are amongst the oldest league teams in English Football as well as the pioneers of UEFA Champions League.They have set countless records and won many titles in the history of clubs’ football.

The honors and achievements earned by the Wolves football club throughout in its football career are:

Club Records

  • Appearances: Most appearances (total) : Derek Parkin – 609 (1968-82)
  • Most appearances (league) : Derek Parkin – 501 (1968-82)
  • Most consecutive appearances : 171 (127 league) – September 1970 to September 1973

Individual Records

  • Most goals scored (career) : Steve Bull – 306 (1986-99)
  • Most league goals scored (career) : Steve Bull – 250 (1986-99)
  • Most goals scored (season) : Steve Bull – 52 (1987-8)
  • Most league goals scored (season) : Dennis Westcott – 38 (1946-7, First Division)
  • Most goals scored (FA Cup) : John Richards – 24 (1969-83)
  • Most goals scored (League Cup) :
  • John Richards – 18 (1969-83)
  • Steve Bull – 18 (1986-99)
  • Most hat-tricks scored : Steve Bill – 18 (1986-99) Most goals in european



First Division

  • Champions: 1953–54, 1957–58, 1958–59
  • Runners-up: 1937–38, 1938–39, 1949–50, 1954–55, 1959–60


  • Champions: 2008–09

Second Division

  • Champions: 1931–32, 1976–77,
  • Runners-up: 1966–67, 1982–83
  • Play-off winners: 2003

Third Division (North)/Third Division

  • Champions: 1923–24, 1988–89

Fourth Division

  • Champions: 1987–88



  • Runners-up: 1972

FA Cup

  • Winners: 1893, 1908, 1949, 1960
  • Runners-up: 1889, 1896, 1921, 1939
  • Third-place: 1973
  • Semi-finalists: 1890, 1951, 1979, 1981, 1998

Football League Cup

  • Winners: 1974, 1980
  • Semi-finalists: 1973

FA Charity Shield

  • Winners: 1949*, 1954*, 1959, 1960* (* joint holders)
  • Runners-up: 1958

Football League Trophy

  • Winners: 1988

Texaco Cup

  • Winners: 1971

Minor honours

Football League War Cup

  • Winners: 1942

FA Youth Cup

  • Winners: 1958
  • Runners-up: 1953, 1954, 1962, 1976

United Soccer Association

  • Champions 1967 — playing as Los Angeles Wolves

North American Soccer League International Cup

  • Winners 1969 — playing as Kansas City Spurs

The Central League

  • Winners 1931–32, 1950–51, 1951–52, 1952–53, 1957–58, 1958–59

Birmingham Senior Cup

  • Winners 1891-92, 1892-93, 1893-94, 1899-1900, 1901-02, 1923-24, 1986-87
  • Runners-up 1888-89, 1896-97, 1897-98, 1903-04, 1906-07, 1908-09, 1912-13, 1998-99, 2003-04

Birmingham Football Combination

  • Winners 1934-35

Birmingham and District League

  • Winners 1892-93, 1897-98, 1898-99, 1900-01, 1953-54, 1957-58, 1958-59

Worcestershire Football Combination

  • Winners 1957-58

Staffordshire Senior Cup

  • Winners 1887-88, 1893-94, 1966-67
  • Runners Up 1884-85

Walsall Senior Cup

  • Runners Up 1885-86

Wrekin Cup

  • Winners 1884 (First ever Trophy)

Gothia World Youth Cup

  • Winners 200

Performance record of Stoke City football club

EPL club: Stoke City football club Read more..

English Premier League (Season Summary)

by on May 20, 2010
in League Football

Chelsea FC

Season review of English premier league, 2009/10 is presented here. It is a summarized version of the exciting and thrilling season.

Blues are the champion:

The champion of the English Premier League 2009/10 season is Chelsea FC. Their last match was against Wigan Athletic. The match was very crucial for Chelsea. They were in a “must win” situation. They wrapped up the Premier League title with an awesome home win against Wigan by 8-0. Anelka scored the first goal for Chelsea within 6 minutes of the match. On the 32nd minute, Lampard scored again from a penalty. Drogba got a hat-trick in this match. Others who scored were Anelka again, Salomon Kalou, and Ashley Cole.

Final table standings:

After the end of 2009-10 seasons, Chelsea is in the first position with 86 points, while Man UTD is in the second with 85 points. They were the winners of their last match against Stoke City. Arsenal is the 3rd. With 70 points, Tottenham is in the 4th position and Man City is in the 5th.

Top scorers:

Didier Drogba from Chelsea is number one with 29 goals. Wayne Rooney is in second position with 26 goals. With 24 goals, Darren Bent from Sunderland made for the third.

Relegated teams:

Burnley, Hull City and Portsmouth will be relegated.

Top 5 Goal Scorers in History of Premiership

by on August 29, 2009
in Famous football players

Alan Shearer

The English premiership is just underway. Match winning performances are creeping up on us once again so as a special treat, history takes us on a walk down memory lane with a countdown of the top 5 goal scorers in the Premiership of all time, which are as follows:

1. Alen Shearer – 260 goals

Alen Shearer, who played for Southampton, Blackburn Rovers and Newcastle United as a striker, was born on 13 August 1970 in Gosforth. He enjoyed his successful club and international career during which he scored 422 goals. On 9 April 1988 at the age of 17 years and 240 days, he scored a hat-trick against Arsenal, becoming the youngest player to score hat-trick in premiership. In premiership he scored 260 goals – “a league record”.

Shearer was named Overall Player of the Decade, Domestic Player of the Decade, and Outstanding Contribution to the Premier League and Top Goal scorer.

2. Andrew Cole – 187 goals

Cole is the second highest scorer in Premier League history with 187 goals. Andrew Alexander Cole, or Andy as he was known during his heyday in the early years of the Premier League, bowed out of professional football a few years ago, closing the book on one of the true modern football greats.

Cole helped carve out the current reputations of both the English game and Manchester United as a result of his incredible playing career and being the number 2 goal scorer in the English premiership. Cole was one of the most feared strikers in club football.

3. Thierry Henry – 174 goals

It was at Arsenal that Henry made his name as a world-class footballer. Despite initially struggling in the Premiership, he emerged as Arsenal’s top goal-scorer for almost every season during his tenure there. With lightning pace and one of the deftest touches in the game, Wenger immediately turned Henry back into a striker and soon had the deadliest weapon in the Premier League. Over the next eight seasons he scored a club-record of 174 goals in 254 games.

4. Robbie Fowler – 161 goals

Former Liverpool legend Robbie Fowler was born to score goals and is widely recognized as one of the best finishers in Europe. Fowler, 34, became the fourth-highest all-time scorer with 161 goals in the English Premier League.

5. Les Ferdinand – 150 goals

Les Ferdinand, MBE, was born on 8th December 1966. He began his career at Queens Park Rangers before earning a high profile move to Newcastle United. Les Ferdinand has 150 goals with the majority coming while playing for Queen’s Park Rangers, Newcastle United and Tottenham Hotspur. Ferdinand was awarded the PFA players player award in 1996 and scored 5 goals for England, gaining 17 caps.

You might also likeclose