2010 Football Champion – Spain, Viva Spaniard!

by on July 15, 2010

Spain  FIFA World Cup 2010 winner Read more..

The Football World Cup

by on December 8, 2009
in FIFA, FIFA World Cup


The Football World Cup is the jewel in the crown of the Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) and it has been contested between the member teams of FIFA since 1930. The World Cup has been awarded to the winners of the competition every year since 1930 except for 1942 and 1946 when the competition was cancelled due to the 2nd World War.

There are many teams that belong to the Federation but only 32 qualify to play in each tournament. This qualification phase takes place for during the three years prior to the World Cup and it is almost as hotly contested as the finals themselves. Many dreams are made and many hearts broken during the qualification phase.

The tournament has been played eighteen times and is has been one by only seven different countries. Brazil holds the most number of victories with five wins, and then it is Italy, the current World Champions who have won the title four times. That means that Italy and Brazil together hold half of the titles that could have been one. The other half have been won by Germany with three wins, Argentina and Uruguay with two each, and England and France with one each.

The next football World Cup will be held in South Africa in 2010 and this promises to be the most watched sporting even in the world. An estimated 715.1million people watched the 2006 final that was held in Germany in 2006. Hope you will be watching too.