Top Ten Coaches and Captains of Athletic Bilbao-All time

by on September 26, 2010
in Italian League

Lippo Hertzka of atletico bilbao fcFred Pentland is the most successful manager till date as he guided the club to win five Copa del Rey, two La Liga titles and five Biscay championships. Ferdinand Daucik trained Athletic Bilbao to win one Spanish Championship and two Copa Del Generalisimo. Agustin Gainza guided the club to win one Copa del Generalisimo in the year 1969. Ronnie Allen led Athletic Bilbao to win the Copa del Rey of 1969 and the club also became the runners-up of La Liga in 1969-70. Under the training of William Garbutt, Athletic Bilbao had won the Spanish Football Championship of 1935-36. Angel Zubieta trained Athletic Bilbao during the season of 1962-63. Lippo Hertzka served the club from 1926 to 1929.

Top ten coaches of Athletic Bilbao are:

1. Fred Pentland
2. Lippo Hertzka
3. Ferdinand Daucik
4. Juan Antonio Ipina
5. Angel Zubieta
6. Agustin Gainza
7. Rafael Iriondo
8. Ronnie Allen
9. Salvador Artigas
10. William Garbutt

Jose Luis Panizo played 325 La Liga matches scoring 136 goals. Jose Urrutia was a valuable defensive midfielder with great tackling skills. Urrutia played 348 matches for the club. Jose Ramon Alexanko was the central defender and his highlights with Athletic Bilbao were winning two runners-up medals of Spanish Cup and UEFA Cup. Telmo Zarra capped the team for 20 games and his position in the team as the striker. Andoni Goikoetxea spent majority of his career in Athletic Bilbao and had won 2 Spanish Leagues, one Spanish Cup and one Spanish Supercup. Telmo Zarra played 15 seasons at the club and had won six times Pichichi trophy for the top goal scorer. Zarra had won one La Liga and 5 Copa del Rey trophies.

Top ten captains of Athletic Bilbao are:

1. Joseba Etxeberria
2. Agustin Gainza
3. Andoni Goikoetxea
4. Genar Andrinua
5. Telmo Zarra
6. Roberto Bertol
7. Josu Urrutia
8. Jose Ramon Alexanko
9. Jose Luis Panizo
10. Julen Guerrero

Share Your Thoughts