Top Ten Goalies and Defenders of Manchester United-All time

Manchester United football club

Frank Barnett was a Scottish goalkeeper who played for Newton Heath, currently known as Manchester United. Barnettt made 132 appearances for the club. Harry Moger played 264 games as a goalkeeper for United. Alf Steward played 326 games for Manchester United. Ray Wood was the goalkeeper of the winning team that won the 1956 and 1957 championship. Harry Gregg was voted as the best goalkeeper of World Cup in 1958. Gregg had 48 clean sheets in the career with United. Alex Stepney was the goalkeeper of Manchester United that won the first European Cup to become the first English club to win that title. Gary Bailey appeared for Manchester United as a goalkeeper for 300 times. Jack Crompton played as a goalkeeper for United and had won 1948 FA Cup.

Top ten goalies of Manchester United are:

1. Frank Barnett
2. Harry Moger
3. Alf Steward
4. Ray Wood
5. Harry Gregg
6. Alex Stepney
7. Gary Bailey
8. Peter Schmeichel
9. Robert Beale
10. Jack Crompton

Gary Neville has won three FA Cups, two European Cups, and eight Premier League titles, one League Cup, an Intercontinental Cup and a FIFA Club World Cup for Manchester United football club. League cup was won under the captaincy of Gary Neville. Mikael Silvestre played for Manchester United FC as a defender. Silvestre played both as a left full-back as well as centre-back. George Stacey played as a left back in several English clubs including Manchester United club. Stacey won one FA Cup and two First Division titles with United. Charles Moore was a full back played for United and made 328 appearances in eight long years of career in United. Johnny Carey spent most of his career in United and was the first non-English player and first Irish player to captain to won both First Division and FA Cup final. John Aston was a left-back and he captained England national football team for 17 times. Roger Byrne is still considered as one of the greatest captains of Manchester United football club. William Foulkes helped the club to win four titles of First Division, one European Cup and one FA Cup. Shay Brennan played 359 games for the club. Tony Dunne played 530 games for the club.

Top ten defenders of Manchester United football club are:

1. Gary Neville
2. Mikael Silvestre
3. George Stacey
4. Charles Moore
5. Johnny Carey
6. John Aston, Sr
7. Roger Byrne
8. William Foulkes
9. Shay Brennan
10. Tony Dunne


2 Responses to “Top Ten Goalies and Defenders of Manchester United-All time”

Share Your Thoughts