UEFA Champions League (Basic information)

by on May 7, 2010
in League Football

Zinedine Zidane

Generally UEFA Champions League is known as Champions League. This football tournament is organized by UEFA since 1955. Only top football clubs of Europe can play this tournament. So we can call this event as the biggest club football event in Europe. UEFA Champions League and UEFA cup both are not same. This two are different tournaments for different teams.

Total 32 teams are playing UEFA Champions League final. Total UEFA Champions League is a summation of some stages. 22 teams are qualified for UEFA Champions League automatically. And these teams are selected by UEFA co-efficient. This tournament begins in mid July with three knock out rounds and a play off round. After playing knock out rounds and play off rounds 10 winner teams get promotion to UEFA Champions League final. At group stage we there are 8 groups in Champions League. Four teams are in each group. And each group must not contain 2 teams which are from same country. Each team plays a home match and an away match against rest four teams. And two teams get promotion to next round from each team.

UEFA Champions League is undoubtedly one of the most popular football tournaments in the world. Champions League is one of the most watched football tournaments.  


3 Responses to “UEFA Champions League (Basic information)”
  1. As a Newbie, I am always searching online for articles that can help me. Thank you

  2. iPage Review says:

    This was a interesting article to read, thank you for sharing it.

Share Your Thoughts